Whole Grains

This challenge focuses on whole grains, one of the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans’ “Food Groups to Encourage.”

Core Messages: Whole Grains Challenge

Kids who make healthy food choices eat six ounces of grains each day, and they make half of their grains whole grains.

Whole grains contain all three essential elements of the natural grain seed: the bran, endosperm and germ.

The most common whole grains are brown rice, oatmeal, pearl barley, whole wheat and wild rice.

Whole grains may help to reduce the risks of heart disease, stroke, cancer, diabetes and obesity — and always are part of an overall healthful diet.

Whole grains are primarily carbohydrates — our body’s main source of energy.

Whole grains are important sources of fiber and many vitamins and minerals.

*The amount of grains you need to eat depends on your age, sex and level of physical activity. See www.mypyramid.gov for more information.


TrackBack URI

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: